Superdry.com

FORTUNE - Staring at the ice melt



Many see the electronic music scene in France as suffering from an over-representation of standardized groups. If this cut and dry opinion is true to some extent, it is nonetheless facetiously obvious that the listener must also leave the beaten track and subscribe to the numerous outsiders with their noble ideas.


It’s in this way that we must approach Fortune and their album “Staring at the Ice Melt”, released two months ago.


Rich training and a pop music culture inherited from the 70s and 80ts, Fortune immediately states the color of their music. No, the colors. Multicoloured.


From the very first notes, the ear is enveloped in golden layers, warm orange and blue sky. Summer opens its arms to you. A catchy and haunting voice takes you by the waist, the base shakes your hips and piano sets the tempo. How can you ever resist being overcome by such positive surf …


In an atmosphere of carelessness and communicative lightness the pieces follow one another, without ever slipping into the easy cut formulas for success.


Each piece and its effect displays itself, bringing color to the rainbow.


« Under the Sun », or the soundtrack of a city’s café terrace in the month of June, holds out its hand to start the weekend. Each day becomes a holiday. The liquid guitar flows into your mind like a refreshment. The voice smiles and the piano resembles the smile of a stranger met in the course of a stroll.


Then comes « Gimme”, perfect British song, entirely digested in new wave. The rhythm grabs you immediately after the first verse, expanding in the chorus, moving the shoulders and make you want to live longer.


« Bully », a soundtrack from a Comet TV ad across the Channel, rekindles the flame of the 70′s chanted and incandescent rock scene,. The drums roll, the song becomes an anthem. Your chin goes up, your fist rises, we’re 17 years old and life belongs to us.


« All Night » dives right into the new wave and sends Eurythmics and The Presets back to back. The reptilian base slithers in and out, leaving the keyboard and choir to mesmerize our attention. The lights go down, we are dancing alone, but dancing in our heads.


Then comes « Since you’re gone, » a little musical delight, exquisite delicacy on the surf guitar accompanied by a sun-filled voice. The month of August, 6:00 pm, shadows lick the scenery, the beach is empty and we aren’t returning home. Freedom is now. « Since you’re gone, well nothing makes any sense.” It’s true. But it’s so beautiful here right now. Come back, we’ll be so happy here.


Then muffled layers of « Highway (part 1) » come to our ears. Intimacy is created and the voice fades away. Instantaneous inner life. Are we happy or sad …?


The issue disappears when the sun of « Highway » illuminates your face. A first rate road musical, the song creates a path where the mind is committed to escaping on amber keyboards and woodland rhythms, following a robotic voice that resonates from afar. The road lies ahead, made of still landscape and the zest of scattered civilization.


With « Nothin’” It’s the 80s rock which comes to us. Foreigner, The Cars, light rock, both simple and obvious. Crystalline guitars that let a rhythmic chorus explode, punctuated by the piano. The trick is played.


When « Celebrate » starts, it’s impossible to resist. The base catches hold of your hips, the voice whispers in your neck. It’s totally groovy. We close our eyes, the bodies approach. « Hey, tonight, let’s celebrate. » The funk gimmicks funk make the sequins vibrate, the bridge sounds like disco. Sensuality becomes tactile.


“Venus” plunges its roots into the vintage 70s and surf music to extract a moody and fragile pop song.


” Fancy Role” releases the machine once again to the sound of Depeche Mode type keyboards, before offering a breath of fresh air with the echoes of a feminine chorus.


Then comes « Poison » to close the album. Very gently, like a farewell, a night on a sidewalk, a last touch of hands, a smile that we wish we could carry with us forever. The streets are lonely, footsteps echo. Anger rises like drunken ecstasy. The guitars ring in our ears like a heartbeat. Our view is blurred. We are alone now.


With « Staring at the Ice Melt, » Fortune offers a notebook of colours and sensations. Each song tells a story, every detail scores a goal. Steel drums, ukulele, hypnotic synthesizers, sensual base or vintage gimmicks, the seductive gear deployed by Parisians is brilliant and completely disarms you.


You may be reminded of Phoenix, the brilliant Tahiti 80, Pony Pony Run Run or Air. But no, just think of Fortune. For, yes, here is a stunning new player to be accepted without discussion.


And here is a perfect record for the month of June Here’s a perfect CD for a perfect moment.
Quite simply..



Staring At The Ice Melt sur Spotify : Fortune – Staring At The Ice Melt
Fortune sur Myspace : Myspace.com/ilovefortune
Site officiel de Fortune : F-o-r-t-u-n-e.com


female_fashion_5



Facebook comments:

fortune-staring-ice-melt-(optimized)



Beaucoup perçoivent la scène électronique hexagonale comme sinistrée par une sur-représentation de groupes calibrés. Si cet avis tranché peut s’avérer bien souvent exact, il n’en découle pas moins une évidence facétieuse pour l’auditeur : il faut sortir des sentiers battus pour s’abandonner aux nombreux outsiders aux idées généreuses.
C’est ainsi qu’il faut appréhender Fortune, et son album Staring at the ice melt, sorti il y a deux mois.


Riche d’une formation pop et d’une culture musicale héritée des 70’s et 80’s, Fortune pose d’emblée la couleur de sa musique. Non, les couleurs. Multicolore.



Dès les premières notes, l’oreille est enrobée de nappes dorées, d’orange chaleureux et de bleu ciel. L’été ouvre ses bras pour vous. Une voix accrocheuse et entêtante vous prend par la taille, la basse fait vibrer vos hanches et le piano donne le tempo. Comment résister à une déferlante aussi positive…


Dans une ambiance à l’insouciance et à la légèreté communicative s’enchaînent les morceaux, sans jamais glisser dans la facilité ouatée d’une formule taillée pour le succès.


Chaque morceau affiche ainsi sa teinte et apporte sa couleur à l’arc en ciel.


« Under the sun » ou la bande-son d’un mois de juin citadin en terrasse vous tend la main pour commencer le week-end. Chaque jour devient une vacance. La guitare liquide coule dans l’esprit comme un rafraichissement. La voix sourit et le piano ressemble au sourire d’une inconnue croisée au hasard d’une flânerie.


Vient ensuite « Gimme », parfaite british song, tout en new wave digérée. Le rythme attrape immédiatement dès le premier couplet pour se déployer dans le refrain pour faire bouger les épaules et donner envie de vivre plus.


« Bully », bande son d’une publicité Comet TV outre-manche, ravive la flamme du rock 70’s, scandé et incandescent. La batterie fait taper du pied, le chant se fait hymne. le menton remonte, le poing se lève, on a 17 ans, et la vie nous appartient.


« All night » plonge droit dans la new wave et renvoie dos à dos Eurythmics et The Presets. La basse reptilienne se faufile pour laisser clavier et chœur hypnotiser l’attention. Les lumières se tamisent, on danse seul. Mais on danse dans sa tête.


Vient alors « Since you’re gone », petit délice musical, friandise exquise à la guitare surf et la voix ensoleillée. Mois d’août, 18h, les ombres lèchent le décor, la plage se vide et on ne rentre pas. La liberté c’est maintenant. « Since you’re gone, well nothing makes any sense », c’est vrai. Mais il fait si beau là tout de suite. Reviens, on sera heureux ici.


Puis parviennent à nos oreilles les nappes feutrées de « Highway (part 1) ». L’intimité se fait, la voix s’en va au loin. Instant de vie intérieure. Est-on heureux ou triste…


La question disparait dès que le soleil de « Highway » vous éclaire le visage. Route musicale par excellence, la chanson crée un chemin où l’esprit s’engage pour s’évader sur des claviers ambrés et des rythmiques boisées pour suivre une voix robotique qui résonne au loin. La route défile, faite de paysages immobiles et de zestes de civilisation disséminés.


Avec « Nothin », c’est le rock 80s qui vient à nous. Foreigner, The Cars, du rock léger, simple et si évident. Des guitares cristallines qui laissent exploser un refrain rythmé par la piano. L’affaire est jouée.


Quand « Celebrate » démarre, impossible de résister. La basse attrape les hanches, la voix chuchote dans votre cou. C’est de groove qu’il s’agit. On ferme les yeux, les corps se rapprochent. « hey, tonight, let’s celebrate ». Les gimmicks funk vibrent de paillettes, le bridge sonne comme de la disco. La sensualité se fait tactile.


« Venus » plonge ses racines dans le vintage 70’s et la surf music pour en extraire une pop song moody et fragile.


« Fancy role » relance la machine au son de claviers à la Depeche Mode, pour ensuite offrir une bouffée d’air frais par son refrain aux échos féminins.


Puis vient « Poison » pour conclure l’album. Tout en douceur, comme un adieu, un soir sur un trottoir, un dernier frôlement de main, un sourire qu’on voudrait emporter avec soi pour toujours. Les rues sont solitaires, les pas résonnent. La colère monte comme une ivresse, les guitares sonnent aux oreilles comme les battement du cœur. La vue se trouble. On est seul à présent.


Avec « Staring at the ice melt », Fortune offre un carnet de sensations et de couleurs . chaque chanson raconte une histoire, chaque détail touche au but. Steel drums, ukulele, synthétiseurs hypnotiques, basses charnelles ou gimmicks vintage, l’attirail de séduction déployé par les parisiens est éclatant, et vous désarme complètement.


On peut penser à Phœnix, aux géniaux Tahiti 80, à Pony Pony Run Run ou à Air. Mais non, pensons à Fortune. Car oui, voici un nouvel acteur épatant qui remporte l’adhésion sans discussion.


Voici un disque parfait pour le mois de juin. Voici un disque parfait pour un bon moment.
Tout simplement.



Staring At The Ice Melt sur Spotify : Fortune – Staring At The Ice Melt
Fortune sur Myspace : Myspace.com/ilovefortune
Site officiel de Fortune : F-o-r-t-u-n-e.com

A propos de l'auteur

Fort d'une carrière de 10 ans dans l'univers de la communication internet, j'ai acquis une forte expérience dans les domaines Publictaires, E-Commerce et Corporate.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publié.

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.